The Security Council
The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the most influential international bodies that has ever come into existence as it is the only binding UN organ. The Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security through taking the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of a settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security. The UNSC consists of fifteen members in total, five of which (France, People's Republic of China, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, and the United States of America) are permanent members; the five permanent members possess the veto power and the other ten members are temporary and change every two years.
Ecological and Environmental Committee
The Ecological and Environmental Committee is a United Nations initiative set up to handle and debate issues specifically concerning the environment. The committee debates topics that deal with sustainable development and conservation of both animals and resources. The Environment Commission's goal is to develop solutions to issues that concern the world's environment; this initiative has the ultimate goal of creating a world of sustainable growth and development, in addition to countering climate change, along with its causes and effects.
Economic and Financial Committee
The Economic and Financial Committee deals with issues that concern the world in relation to countries' economic growth and development. This committee's primary concern is improving the economic situation in Less Economically Developed Countries (LEDC's), in addition to the better management of issues where economics and finances are involved, and trying to find financial solutions to many of the world's economic challenges. The issues debated here are oriented around the idea of sustainable development, economic development, and progress, eradication of poverty and better methods of globalization and trade.
Human Rights Council
The Human Rights Council is an inter- governmental body within the United Nations that promotes and protects human rights all around the world. It tackles human rights violations in UN member states, focusing on issues such as freedom of association and assembly, freedom of expression, freedom of belief and religion, women's rights, LGBT rights, and the rights of racial and ethnic minorities. The issues debated in this conference relate to the Sustainable Development Goals of gender equality, reduced inequalities, and peace, justice, and strong institutions.
Special Political and Decolonization Committee
The Special Political and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL), is commonly referred to as the fourth committee of the United Nations General Assembly. Delegates in this committee converge to discuss issues such as land and sea disputes, the rule of law, ways in which we can undo the effects of colonization, etc.
Social Humanitarian & Cultural Committee
The Social, Humanitarian, and Cultural Committee (SOCHUM) is the Third Committee of the General Assembly of the United Nations and focuses broadly on the welfare and rights of marginalized communities around the world, as well as the rights of indigenous peoples globally. In this year’s conference, delegates will have the opportunity to explore the issue of child marriages and involuntary concubinage, and the usage of the usage of religion and culture in justifying intolerance and discrimination towards marginalized communities.